Nov 07

ANZAC Community Service Awards 2017



The Hervey Bay RSL Sub-Branch had long felt the need to promote the belief that the highest values of citizenship are fundamental to our society.

It was our wish to acknowledge those Australians in today’s society who have excelled in service to our community.  To this end a system of Awards was proposed in which each of the six Emergency Service groups operating within the boundaries of the then Hervey Bay City Council were be asked to nominate one person from their organization who, in the view of their peers and colleagues, had shown outstanding devotion to duty, achieved with distinction and brought credit to their organization and benefit to their community by personal endeavour.

In addition they shall have demonstrated a positive approach to a belief incorporated in the RSL Code of Citizenship – ‘that every citizen should uphold the social value of high personal standards of responsibility, conduct, performance and integrity’.

A Sub-Branch ‘ANZAC Award’ committee will select one person from the six nominees to be designated the overall winner for that year.  That person shall receive a personal trophy and the organization nominating the winner will be presented with a perpetual shield suitable inscribed, recording their achievement, which they will hold for the ensuing twelve months.  All nominees from each organization shall receive an RSL plaque, suitably inscribed.

Each organization shall also be presented with a cheque/donation to be used by that group to assist a community service organization of its choice.

In 2004 the ‘Hervey Bay ANZAC Community Service Award’ became an annual event.


1 November 2017

Congratulations to Kevin Lategan of Volunteer Marine Rescue Hervey Bay

Dave Marshman – Operations Manager, Kevin Lategan receiving his award from Brian Tidyman – President of the Hervey Bay RSL Sub-Branch

Kevin was nominated by Theresa Harris who submitted the following:


Kevin Lategan has been an outstanding member of our organisation since joining in July 2016.  He has advanced through crew training and is continually involved in the recovery of vessels and people in danger at sea.  Kevin also unselfishly provides his expertise as an Electrical Engineer to repair our radio equipment at the Base, as well as at the Sandy Cape Lighthouse to test/repair equipment housed at this site.  This is a vital link for boaties operating offshore from Fraser Island as well as in the norther parts of Hervey Bay through to Bunadaberg. 


Volunteers such as Kevin are few and far between and should be recognised by the community and shown as an example of what people can achieve within an organisation that provides help to people in distress.  Usually in difficult conditions where equipment must perform in a reliable manner as lives depend on it.

I can only hope this nomination is successful as I cannot think of a more deserving person for this award.  In the short time Kevin as been with us he has made a massive contribution and commitment to us.





ANZAC Community Service Awards 2017

Keep a look out for your organisation’s invitation to nominate a worthy recipient for this year’s ANZAC Community Service Award


ANZAC Community Service Awards 2016

This year the Hervey Bay RSL Sub-Branch Inc. invited nominations from the Hervey Bay Surf Lifesaving Club, Queensland Ambulance Service, Queensland Fire & Rescue, Queensland Police Service, Volunteer Marine Rescue , Rural Fire Services Maryborough and the State Emergency Service.

At the RSL Sub-Branch General Meeting on 5th November 2016 presentations were made to Jill Barclay (Volunteer Marine Rescue, Hervey Bay); Colin Fitzsummons on behalf of Barry Hamilton (Toogoom Rural Fire Brigade); Darren Horton (Hervey Bay Surf Lifesaving Club); Wayne Harvey on behalf of Gerard Meijer (State Emergency Service); Andrew Eason (Queensland Ambulance Service / Hervey Bay Surf Lifesaving Club).

The winner, by unanimous decision, was Darren Horton, Club Captain of the Hervey Bay Surf LifeSaving Club.


Darren Horton – Hervey Bay Surf Lifesaving Club

Darren’s nomination was put forward by the Club President, Sue Murray.  She noted:

Darren has been with HBSLSC for 10 years & since joining with his family he has been actively involved in many areas of the club.
The past 5 years he has been Club Captain which involves coordinating water safety for Nippers & Juniors on a Sunday morning.  Added to this he co ordinates the water safety for Triathlons that take part in Hervey Bay which includes the Wide Bay & other championships that are held here.

Darren is an active Patrolling member who also attends his patrols and willingly  fills in on others who are short.
Darren sets the Patrol Rosters each season coordinating 9 groups to patrol the 6 months of the Surf Lifesaving season. He is well respected within our club & Surf Lifesaving fraternity.
Darren is also an active member on the Board at HBSLSC & has held this role for 5 years.
Darren & his lovely wife Valerie has 3 girls who are involved in Surf Lifesaving too & are always there to support them in events they enter but most of all make sure they are having fun!
Darren volunteers his time along with other members on a Saturday afternoon to open the Bar for our members & guests.
We are fortunate at HBSLSC to have Darren as he is a valuable member of our club.



Wayne Harvey on behalf of Gerard Meijer


Jill Barclay – Volunteer Marine Rescue